8082018 2
Date: Thursday, March 29, 2018
Instructor: Miles Hutchinson
Begin Time:  12:00pm Pacific Time
1:00pm Mountain Time
2:00pm Central Time
3:00pm Eastern Time
CPE Credit:  2 hours for CPAs
2 hours Federal Tax Related for EAs and OTRPs
2 hours Federal Tax Law for CTEC


One of the most frustrating payroll tasks is dealing with garnishment orders. Did you know that there are limits to the amount of pay that can be subjected to the orders or that the dates on the orders may influence their priority? 

In this webinar, you will receive step by step guidance on how to evaluate and process the various types of garnishment orders including child support, spousal support, alimony, federal and state taxes, bankruptcy, student loans, and creditor garnishments.

Who Should Attend
Bank Managers, Compliance Officers, Information Reporting Officers, Tax Managers, CFOs, Controllers, Accounting Managers, Auditors, IT Managers, Compliance Managers, Risk Managers, All types of entities including For Profit, Not for Profit, Government (Federal and State), everyone who hires an independent contractor has reporting obligations.

Topics Covered

  • How to prioritize different types of levies when more than one applies to a single employee
  • When to apply the Disposable Earnings v. the Take-home Pay approach to establishing the garnishment limit
  • Learn the limitations on the amount that can be withheld for each type of levy State v. federal priorities and limitations — which applies when they conflict
  • Wage assignments v. attachments
  • Penalties for failure to honor levies
  • When you may charge an administrative fee and when you may not
  • How to report employee separation from employment
  • Receive valuable federal and state forms, publications, tables and URLs
  • Best Practices or handling garnishments


Learning Objectives

  • Recognize and apply the rules established for employers to comply with garnishment orders
  • Discover the employee protections from termination and when the employer may discharge an employee for having too many garnishments
  • Ensure that your records and practices will stand the scrutiny of an audit
  • Identify how to avoid the onerous penalties for noncompliance and build the best defense against them

Additional Course Details

  • Author: Miles Hutchinson
  • Publisher: Wolters Kluwer
  • Course Level: Basic
  • Pre-Requisites: None
   0 Review  |  Write a review

Available Options

* Course Format:

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: